Project Draft cattle

PROJECT DRAFT CATTLE

A social and ecological agricultural project

With the «Draft Cattle» project, we are developing a training program based on the traditional knowledge of migrants in handling draft cattle. We want to further develop this know-how in the context of ecological and social agriculture.

With this non-profit project, we are creating a niche job for long-term unemployed people who are difficult to place, under the responsibility of a social service. In addition, the training provides migrants who are obliged or willing to leave the country with a professional perspective in their country of origin by creating a feasible livelihood.



 

 

Trennlinie neu FAFAFA.png

Until the post-war period, draught cattle played an important role in Swiss agriculture. With industrialization, not only the old cattle breeds but also the traditional knowledge about draught cattle fell into oblivion. In less industrialized countries, however, they are still an important part of agriculture today.

At the international draft animal conference "Draft Animals in the Past, Present and Future", organized by the UNSESCO World Heritage Site Kloster Lorsch, our project was also documented. As part of the conference, an archive was created in which examples of work with draft animals in the 21st century were recorded as short video clips. It is presented by project manager Joana Ryser, Léon Bickel, head of FastRunner programs, and our cattle Elly and Milou.

Zugtiere Elly und Milou

Our Draft Cattle-Family: Elly & Milou

In December 2020 we bought our first cow of the Grey cattle breed Grauvieh), Elly. Shortly after, Elly gave birth to a baby calf, Milou.

Elly and Milou form the heart of our draft cattle project and will be trained by us to become a draft cow and a draft ox. Mother Elly started her training in January 2021, so that with her energetic support we will soon be able to harvest our first potatoes.

With the
organic farm Wingey we have found an ideal place for our animals. There they live with other cows in a herd, have a spacious free-range barn and plenty of access to pasture. The organic farm is also where the extensive training of our two cattle will take place. Extensive means that Elly and Milou are allowed to be mainly cow and ox, and only work as much as is healthy for them.

If you would like to contribute to the upkeep costs of our draft animals or volunteer, go
here.

Project Draft cattle

PROJET BOVINS DE TRAIT

Un projet agricole social et écologique

Avec le projet «Bovins de trait», nous développons un programme de formation basé sur les connaissances traditionnelles des migrants en matière de maniement du bétail de trait. Nous voulons développer ce savoir-faire dans le cadre d'une agriculture écologique et sociale.

Avec ce projet à but non lucratif, nous créons un emploi de niche pour les chômeurs de longue durée difficiles à placer, sous la responsabilité d'un service social. En outre, la formation ouvre une perspective professionnelle dans leur pays d'origine aux migrants qui sont obligés ou désireux de quitter le pays en créant un moyen de subsistance réalisable.


 

 

Trennlinie neu FAFAFA.png

Jusqu'à l'après-guerre, les bovins de trait ont joué un rôle important dans le système agricole suisse. Avec l'industrialisation, non seulement les anciennes races bovines mais aussi les connaissances traditionnelles sur les bovins de trait sont tombées dans l'oubli. Dans les pays moins industrialisés, cependant, ils constituent encore aujourd'hui une part importante de l'agriculture.

Lors de la conférence internationale sur les animaux de trait "Draft Animals in the Past, Present and Future", organisée par le Kloster Lorsch, site classé au patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO, notre projet de financement a également été documenté. Pendant la conférence, une archive a été créée dans laquelle des exemples de travail avec des animaux de trait au 21ème siècle ont été enregistrés sous forme de courts clips vidéo. Il est présenté par Joana Ryser, chef de projet, Léon Bickel, responsable du Innovation Hub, et nos bovins Elly et Milou.

Zugtiere Elly und Milou

Notre famille de bovins de trait

En décembre 2020, nous avons acheté notre première vache de la race grise rhétique (Grauvieh), Elly. Peu de temps après, Elly a donné naissance à un petit veau, Milou.

Elly et Milou forment le cœur de notre projet de bovins de trait et seront formés par nos soins pour devenir respectivement une vache de trait et un boeuf de trait. Mère Elly a commencé sa formation en janvier 2021 afin que nous puissions bientôt récolter nos premières pommes de terre avec son soutien énergique.

Avec la ferme biologique de Wingey, nous avons trouvé un endroit idéal pour nos animaux. Là-bas, elles vivent dans un troupeau avec d'autres vaches, disposent d'une étable spacieuse en stabulation libre et ont accès à de nombreux pâturages. La ferme biologique est également le lieu où se déroulera le dressage extensif de nos deux bovins. Extensif signifie qu'Elly et Milou sont autorisés à être principalement des vaches et des bœufs, et à ne travailler que dans la mesure où cela est sain pour eux.